The Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) has Been Declared a Public Health Emergency by the World Health Organization (WHO)

Global—The Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) has Been Declared a Public Health Emergency by the World Health Organization (WHO)

Most countries have issued notices advising against nonessential travel to Hubei Province and other parts of the world as the virus reach expands. The novel coronavirus outbreak is a rapidly changing development.  It is strongly advised to review specific travel restrictions from an official government website prior to any out of country travel during this time.

Below is an outline of just a few country’s current travel restrictions to lessen the spread of the coronavirus.


United States: An Entry ban has been implemented for foreign nationals who have visited China with 14 days of seeking admission, except lawful permanent residents, immediate family members of U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents and certain others.  A mandatory quarantine has also been implemented for U.S. citizens who have visited China’s Hubei Province within 14 days before reentry.  There will be advanced screening for citizens returning from other parts of Mainland China as well as a self –imposed quarantine.  U.S. permanent resident’s family of U.S. citizens and permanent residents and others exempted from the entry ban may be subject to quarantine.


Italy: There has been a closure of most immigration offices, police departments in northern Italy (Lombardy, Veneto Emilia Romagna region) until further notice.  Immigration application applicants should expect delays in any activities where personal presence is required, such as approval and collection of work permits, police appointments and appointments scheduled with public offices to submit/collect documents.  Further closures are expected throughout Italy.


Vietnam:  An entry ban for Mainland Chinese nationals has been implemented and could potentially include foreign nationals who have travelled to Mainland China and/or other affected countries recently. Potential quarantines for Mainland Chinese workers returning from Mainland China and foreign nationals who have recently travelled to Mainland China and/or other affected countries.

Singapore: Singapore residents and long-term pass holders returning from Mainland China in the 14 days prior to February 18, 2020 must remain in at their homes at all times for 14 days per the “’Stay at Home Notice’. Noncompliance with this rule can result in revocation of long term or work passes and prosecution for Singaporean nationals under the Infection Diseases Act.

For more information on MSI’s Immigration Services please contact us at

Information for this update has been provided by our global network of immigration partners. Given the nature of and speed at which online communications are developed, we will make every effort to maintain the accuracy of the information provided. However, materials contained in this alert are subject to change at any time without any notice.