European Union Citizens of 54 countries expected to benefit from the reopening of the EU External Borders on July 1st

Member States of the European Union are yet to reach an agreement on the final list of countries whose nationals will be allowed to travel to the European Union from July 1st. However, the following is a draft of the list containing the 54 countries expected to be allowed to travel to the European Union later this week and that currently have a better health situation:

Albania Bhutan Democratic People’s Republic of Korea India Lebanon Mozambique Paraguay Thailand Uruguay
Algeria Bosnia and Herzegovina Dominica Indonesia Mauritius Myanmar Rwanda Tunisia Uzbekistan
Andorra Canada Egypt Jamaica Monaco Namibia Saint Lucia Turkey Vatican City
Angola China Ethiopia Japan Mongolia New Zealand Serbia Turkmenistan Venezuela
Australia Costa Rica Georgia Kazakhstan Montenegro Nicaragua South Korea Uganda Vietnam
Bahamas Cuba Guyana Kosovo Morocco Palau Tajikistan Ukraine Zambia


The delay with the submission of a final list is the lack of an agreement between the Member States on the excluded countries. Based on the information received, citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia not residing in the EU will be excluded from this list and will only be able to enter Europe at a later date, when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

EU External Borders – Members States of the European Union are following the recommendation received from the European Commission to gradually open of Europe’s external borders. The selection of the initial countries is also following the proposed process to together decide which countries will be part of the list, based on a set objective criteria:

  • The health situation,
  • The ability to apply containment measures during travel, and
  • Reciprocity considerations,

All these taking into account data from relevant sources such as ECDC and WHO.

For more information on MSI’s Immigration Services please contact us at msi.immigration@msiimmigration.com

Information for this update has been provided by our global network of immigration partners. Given the nature of and speed at which online communications are developed, we will make every effort to maintain the accuracy of the information provided. However, materials contained in this alert are subject to change at any time without any notice.